Okinawa Karate Kaikan

13 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Okinawa Karate Kaikan

13 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Full view
Location
Contact
854-1 Tomigusuku, Tomigusuku 901-0241 Okinawa Prefecture
Get to know the area
Attraction Tickets

Former Navy HQ Headquarters Fees for visiting historical buildings for war and peace

12 reviews
google
Tickets are usually sold only in cash, but if you make a reservation on TripAdvisor, you can enter smoothly without cash. We will adjust and wait so that the customer who made the reservation and the customer of the group do not enter at the same time.
€3.71 per adult
13Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hannah wrote a review Oct 2019
Kenai, Alaska16 contributions1 helpful vote
The main training area is just great with beautiful wooden floors and walls. There are nice bleachers for spectators, also made from beautiful wood. No drinks or food are allowed in the training area, but you bring a bag if you place it below the bleacher benches. There are nice locker rooms for men and women with programmable key pads. A small gift shop sells ice cream, drinks and some karate related souvenirs (although the selection is quite limited). You can also buy drinks from vending machines close to the training area. The temperature inside varies a bit from cool to relatively warm; expect to sweat quite a bit when training and bring a long sleeve shirt if spectating. Shoes must be removed when entering Kaikan. The museum has new exhibits and is worth of visit.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Yu Ying wrote a review Nov 2018
Singapore, Singapore1,957 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
I went there with little expectations as I had little interest in karate. But surprisingly I enjoyed the exhibit. There are interactive areas such as ‘weights’ to lift to let you try and experience how tough their training is, and hologram of flames that we have to give punches to blow it out. Really cool! A lot of effort put into the exhibit. It was totally empty when I was there, so was quite enjoyable have the place to myself. There is a noodle restaurant there where you can have lunch.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Milton R wrote a review Oct 2018
Jacksonville, United States51 contributions13 helpful votes
Our system just used this facility for a seminar and I was definitely impressed. This place is outstanding, with wood everywhere. The facility was extremely clean and well maintained. They have an exercise room with multiple heavy bags, traditional training tools, and multiple makiwara`s. It can accommodate a huge number of people and even offers bo`s for rent in case you need it.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2018
Helpful
Share
VASSAIRE wrote a review Jun 2018
Pattaya, Thailand288 contributions21 helpful votes
I just knew that Karate was originated from Okinawa during I planned for Okinawa trip. Karate Kaikan was on my top list of my trip undoubtedly. Actually I'm not a fan of any kinds of martial art but I'm interested in local culture. Karate may be in a part of Okinawan culture I guess. Karate Kaikan is like a Karate complex where facilitate everything about Karate. There's also a museum to give some information and history of Karate in Okinawa. I went there as a tourist and I paid no admission fee. I rented a Karate uniform cost 300 yen/hr. and walk through the stadium and around. That was great experience. There are souvenir shop and restaurant inside.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Frequently Asked Questions about Okinawa Karate Kaikan